Creative Environment Guide Berlin

art objective and their project OCEAN Contemporary has been published in the new Berlin guide for art and sustainability and listed as one of theTop 10 Art und Sustainability Initiatives in Berlin.

The guide has been published by the Asia-Europe Foundation (ASEF) in Cooperation with the Ecologic Institute and the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) Berlin. Curator and author Yasmin Ostendorf led all the interviews. The guide can be downloaded as a PDF here. 

Dr. Camilla Bausch | Director Ecologic Institute: “To successfully address the challenge of transformation to a more sustainable and equitable society, we need inner reflection, creative approaches, courageous visions of futures and cooperation beyond the limits imposed by how we think and structure society.”

This Guide aims to 1. inspire people by showcasing innovative projects and provide an insight into the impact of that work, the personal drivers of the people running them as well as further ideas and recommendations; 2. provide an overview of potential partners in Berlin working with the topic of environmental sustainability; 3. strengthen the international network of cultural organisations engaging with environmental issues and thereby stimulate cross-border and cross-discipline knowledge exchange and networking on the issue of sustainability.

OCEAN Contemporary is a collaborative, non-profit research and exhibition project which aims to stimulate contemplation on and responsibility for our oceans through the medium of contemporary art. In this ongoing project international artists present pieces with a focus on the ocean and the many problems for which humanity is responsible. The project follows the objectives of various national and international strategies within the UN Decade on Biodiversity (2011-2020) and the previous UN Decade on Education for Sustainable Development (2005-2014) to prevent the rapidly dwindling biodiversity of our planet and to preserve it for the future.

Katja Vedder: “ “It’s good as an independent curator to concentrate on a topic. I’m passionate about the ocean so this is my focus. I’m still constantly amazed with all the new perspectives I find; people draw so much inspiration from the ocean.”

Further Projects

Corinna Rosteck – Roosevelt

Bitter Water

The group exhibition “Bitter Water” presents positions of international artists tracing the inspirational power of the element water and reviewing its’ existential importance. The exhibition was organised in cooperation with the art initiative On Water and the Reederei Riedel GmbH with the objective of shaping the debate on water and setting critical impulses.

Vortragsabend OCEAN Contemporary ©

Lecture Evening “Whales in Mind”

As part of the exhibition “Tension Test. OCEAN CONTEMPORARY #1” at the GEDOK Gallery Berlin, we spoke with art historian Prof. Dr. Ingeborg Reichle from the Humboldt University of Berlin and filmmaker Daniel Opitz from the OCEAN MIND FOUNDATION, Kiel, on the themes of ‘ocean’ and the various aesthetic strategies used to communicate about it.

Sailing Journal Cover

Plastic Pollution

We presented these contemporary views in an article for the Sailing Journal. We are taking a closer look at the positions of contemporary art focusing on the plastic pollutions of the ocean.

Susanna_Sanroman_The-things-we-leave-behind-web

DIGITAL ART EXHIBITION | Interfilm Festival Berlin

Art Objective invites the viewers to discover new horizons in contemporary art. International artists present their perspectives of our ‚Blue Planet‘.

Thorsten Fuchs – Pattern

OCEAN Art Column

The aim is to communicate new perspectives of contemporary art to a wide audience and therefore to make a contribution to the current social discourse. In addition an exclusive limited edition as a Fine Art Print is offered by the artist.

OCEAN CONTEMPORARY VIDEOART | CINEMARE 2018

CONTEMPORARY OCEAN VIDEO ART FILMS – International artists present new perspective on our »Blue Planet«. Their works open room for dialogue, surprise and irritate the viewer. The Video Art Section is curated by Katja Vedder and presented at the 3. CINEMARE Int’l Ocean Film Festival.

OCEAN Contemporary © - Flyer

Tension Test

For a community of artist and art promoters, eV Berlin, we designed the group exhibition “Tension Test. OCEAN Contemporary #1.” Included were fifteen contemporary artists and their views on the theme of “The Ocean Today”, realized in a variety of artistic mediums.

Lisa Hoffmann – Meersucht

German Ocean Foundation – Open Day of the German Government

The curator Katja Vedder is an expert for contemporary art, that focuses on the themes of ocean and water. For the ‘Open Day’ she has brought together two artists to show their work to the public.

oc_catalogue_overview-01

OCEAN Contemporary © Catalogue

The catalogue presents the work of 15 contemporary artists who share their views of the ocean as an endangered landscape and ecosystem, a habitat, as mythology, as a scientific subject of research and a target for political and monetary strategies.

Open Call Ocean Art Films 2018

OPEN CALL – OCEAN Art Films 2019 @ CineMare Int’l Ocean FilmFestival

In collaboration with the CineMare Int’l Ocean Film Festival Germany we invite artists for the third time to present their ocean themed art short films as part of the film festival.

The aim of the project is to stimulate contemplation on and responsibility for our oceans through the medium of contemporary art. By shaping the visual dialogue artists create new perspectives on global topics, open room for dialogue as well as communicating universal values concerning our Blue Planet.

Creative Environment Guide Berlin

art objective ist mit dem Projekt OCEAN Contemporary in dem neuen Handbuch für Kunst- und Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen in Berlin vertreten und als eine der Top 10 Kunst- und Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen in Berlin gelistet worden.

Das Handbuch wurde von der Asia-Europe Foundation (ASEF) publiziert in Kooperation mit dem Ecologic Institue und dem Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) Berlin. Kuratorin und Autorin Yasmin Ostendorf hat die Interviews geführt. Das Buch kann hier als PDF heruntergeladen werden. 

Dr. Camilla BAUSCH | Direktorin Ecologic Institut: „Denn bei der Herausforderung, die Transformation hin zu einer nachhaltigen und gerechten Gesellschaft zu gestalten, brauchen wir innere Reflektion, kreative Ansätze, mutige Visionen von Zukünften und Zusammenwirken jenseits der gängigen Grenzen in den Köpfen und Strukturen.“

Die Ziele des Handbuchs sind es, 1. Menschen zu inspirieren, indem innovative Projekte gezeigt und Einblicke in die Auswirkungen der Arbeiten, die persönlichen Motivationen, Ideen und Empfehlungen der Menschen, die sie leiten, gewährt werden, 2. eine Übersicht von potentiellen Kooperationspartner_innen in Berlin zu schaffen, die sich mit umweltpolitischer Nachhaltigkeit beschäftigen, 3. das internationale Netzwerk von kulturellen Organisationen, die an Umweltthemen arbeiten, zu stärken und damit grenzüberschreitend und interdisziplinär den Wissensaustausch und die Vernetzung zum Thema umweltpolitischer Nachhaltigkeit zu fördern.

OCEAN Contemporary ist ein gemeinschaftliches, gemeinnützige Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojekt, dass mit Hilfe von zeitgenössischer Kunst dazu anregen möchte, über unsere Ozeane nachzudenken und Verantwortung zu übernehmen. In diesem fortlaufenden Projekt präsentieren internationale Künstler_innen Werke zu dem Thema Ozeanen und deren Probleme, für welche vielfach die Menschheit verantwortlich ist. Das Projekt beleuchtet die Zielsetzungen verschiedener nationaler und internationaler Strategien innerhalb der UN-Dekade für Biodiversität (2011-2020) und der vormaligen UN-Dekade für Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (2005-2014), um die rapide abnehmende Artenvielfalt auf unserem Planeten zu verhindern und sie stattdessen für die Zukunft zu erhalten.

Katja Vedder: “Es ist gut, sich als unabhängige Kuratorin auf ein Thema zu konzentrieren. Meine Leidenschaft ist der Ozean, daher liegt dort mein Fokus. Ich bin immer wieder erstaunt über all die verschiedenen Perspektiven, auf die ich stoße; Menschen erlangen so viel Inspiration vom Ozean.”

 

Weitere Projekte

Corinna Rosteck – Roosevelt

Bitteres Wasser

Internationale Künstler präsentieren in der Gruppenausstellung BITTERES WASSER ihre Visionen und spüren der Inspirationskraft des Elements Wasser nach. Sein ästhetischer Reiz und seine existentielle Bedeutung treffen jeden. Sie gestalten ergänzend den öffentlichen Diskurs über Wasser aus der künstlerischen Perspektive in einem der wasserreichsten Bezirke Berlins, Treptow- Köpenick.

Heiko Hellwig – Surfrider Series

DIGITAL ART EXHIBITION | Interfilm Festival Berlin

Art Objective lädt zu neuen Horizonten ein. Internationale KünstlerInnen präsentieren ihre Perspektiven auf unseren blauen Planeten als digitale Projektion.

ocean_contemporary_catalogue_04

OCEAN Contemporary © Katalog

Der Katalog zur Ausstellung „Zerreissprobe“ zeigt Werke von fünfzehn zeitgenössischen Künstlerinnen. Die Ausstellung wurde von art objective und der GEDOK Galerie Berlin als erste einer Reihe von Ausstellungen unter dem Obertitel OCEAN Contemporary © konzipiert und organisiert.

Vortragsabend OCEAN Contemporary ©

Vortragsabend ‚Whales in Mind‘

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Zerreißprobe. OCEAN CONTEMPORARY #1″ in der GEDOK-Galerie Berlin sprachen wir mit der Kunstwissenschaftlerin Prof. Dr. Ingeborg Reichle von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und mit dem Filmemacher Daniel Opitz von der OCEAN MIND FOUNDATION, Kiel, über das Thema Ozean und verschiedene ästhetischer Strategien darüber zu kommunizieren.

CineMare-Bootskino-art-objective-2

CineMare Bootskino

Im Rahmen der Digitalen Kieler Woche hat art objective für das außergewöhnliche Bootskino-Event vom CineMare Int’l Ocean Film Festival die Filmtechnik betreut und bei den Vorbereitungen in der Kommunikation unterstützt.

Thorsten Fuchs – Pattern

OCEAN Art Kolumne

Ziel der OCEAN Art Kolumne ist es neue Perspektiven aktueller Kunst einem breiten Publikum zu vermitteln und so einen Beitrag zum gegenwärtigen gesellschaftlichen Diskurs zu leisten.

art-objective-cinemare-01

OCEAN Contemporary Art Films | CineMare

Im Rahmen des 2. CineMare Int’l Ocean Film Festival Kiel zeigt art objective zur Eröffnung des Festivals eine kuratierte Reihe von Videokunstfilmen unter dem Titel OCEAN Contemporary Art Films.

Zerreissprobe OCEAN Contemporary1

Zerreißprobe

Für die Gemeinschaft der Künstlerinnen und Kunstförderer e.V. Berlin konzipierten wir die Gruppenausstellung „Zerreißprobe. OCEAN Contemporary #1“. Beteiligt wurden fünfzehn zeitgenössische Künstlerinnen, die mit unterschiedlichsten künstlerischen Mitteln ihre Stellungnahmen zum Thema „Der Ozean heute“ visualisierten.

Lisa Hoffmann – Meersucht

Deutsche Meeresstiftung – Tag der offenen Tür der Bundesregierung

Die Kuratorin Katja Vedder ist Expertin für zeitgenössiche Kunst, die sich mit dem Thema Ozean und Wasser auseinandersetzt. Für den Tag der Offen Tür hat sie zwei Künstler zusammengebracht, die ihre Werke vor Ort ausstellen.

Think-Tank-30-Club-of-Rome-square-01

OCEAN Contemporary – Kritische globale Narrative in der Kunst

Wie können KünstlerInnen als kritische Akteure in der Geschallschaft Transformation vorantreiben und wie wichtig ist es den aktuellen Diskurs auch visuell zu gestalten? Im Rahmen der Frühjahrstagung des Think Tank 30 des Club of Rome Deutschland hat Katja Vedder über gesellschaftliche Transformation und die Gestaltung von globalen Narrativen mittels der zeitgenössischen Kunst referiert.

Sailing Journal Cover

Plastic Pollution

Im Sailing Journal haben wir im Rahmen unseres Projektes OCEAN Contemporary einen Artikel veröffentlicht, der Positionen der zeitgenössischen Kunst zum Thema Plastikverschmutzung der Ozeane beleuchtet.